Spring is definitely here…

Plum blossom

I always know when Spring is really here, because I can’t stay out of the garden.  Pruning, weeding, turning out the compost bins – all of these happened on Sunday, and the garden looks so much better for it that it is really satisfying. 

While doing all of this, I was sad to note only one worm in two compost bins!  Usually at this time of the year there would be hundreds of them in each bin.  I don’t know why it is, but I will try to find out before introducing any more to the bins, in case the compost is too acidic for them.

Next on the agenda is getting all of the vegie seeds planted.  I’ve decided to dedicate a lot more space to growing vegetables this year. Not only because they taste so much better than cool-stored ones, or because I can grow them organically, but also because I think we need to go back to eating what is in season and homegrown or available locally.  Living in the city, it is hard to source directly from growers, so if I grow what I can myself, it will mean that there is less for me to have to find.  I’m going to look at bartering with a couple of friends who are doing the same thing, to add variety.

By the look of the fruit trees, and the number of bees visiting them, we should at least have a bumper stone-fruit crop this year, if we don’t get any hail early in the next couple of months, that is.

2 Comments

Filed under gardening

2 responses to “Spring is definitely here…

  1. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  2. Karen

    Hi Sandra,
    Thanks for stopping by! Hope you have a great day.
    Karen.

Leave a Reply

