Signing my life away – for November, at least

bookshelves

NaNoWriMo registrations have opened up for 2007, and I’ve taken the plunge. 

For the uninitiated, NaNoWriMo (aka ‘National Novel Writing Month’) , is an event which, according to their website, ‘is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to novel writing. Participants begin writing November 1. The goal is to write a 175-page (50,000-word) novel by midnight, November 30’.

The idea behind it is that procrastination kills us as writers, but that if we have a deadline to meet and a target word count – even artificially imposed – we are more likely to be able to step up to the plate.

Last year – having discovered NaNoWriMo around the 18th of November – I  managed to complete around 10,500 words before the end of the month.  I was pretty proud of myself, considering I’d never thought I could write fiction, but my efforts fell a very long way short of the target of 50,000 words.

This year, I’m going to devote myself to the task and see how far I can get. 50,000 words in 30 days is 1666.6 words a day – they might not be good words, but the discipline will be very good for me.  I have the luxury of time, this year, too – and my own computer (last year I was sharing a computer and trying to work around Michael’s extended hours and my own job, and ended up doing much of my writing at one in the morning). 

The working title of my novel this year is ‘Hornet’s nest’ – now I only have to work out what it’s about!

Leave a comment

Filed under writing

Leave a Reply

