Birthdays and other fun stuff

Kitchen garden

This might seem like an odd photo to accompany a post about Birthdays, but there is a connection, I assure you.

My birthday was on Saturday, and the plan was for Michael, Meg and I, and my brother and sister-in-law, to go to my parents’ house for dinner. It’s long been a tradition that one of the family will cook a meal of favourite dishes for the birthday person, and this year Beef Wellington was on the menu.

Unfortunately, Mum got sick with whatever nasty bug is going around, and went – in the space of five minutes – from being perfectly fine, to having to reach for a puffer because her asthma had kicked in and she had lost her voice. So, dinner was off.

The day was to start with our regular Tai Chi class (Meg and I have been going for more than two years now), and although we were feeling lazy and didn’t really want to go, we did. Or at least, we tried to – the freeway was blocked because of a very nasty accident, and I was unsure how to get to the venue via the back streets – all of which saw us driving past our local mega hardware store at around 9.30am, as we headed back home.

I was given birthday money by a favourite aunty, so Meg and I went into the attached nursery and bought various supplies for the vegetable-growing season. After a really enjoyable hour there, we headed home with a boot full of potting mix, seedlings, seeds and a new watering can, and I spent the afternoon in the garden – after we’d had taken lunch up to the invalid, of course.

I’m sorry that Mum wasn’t well, but I had a great time pottering about in the garden.  I don’t often get to do just as I please, but on Saturday I indulged myself, and I loved every minute of it.

So, the photo above is of the newly planted window boxes which sit right outside my kitchen window.  There are eight mini cos lettuces on the left; nine mignionette lettuces in the centre, and three different varieties of strawberry on the right.  I also planted 10 tomato plants and a punnet of silverbeet; repotted my lime tree; weeded the herb bed; pruned the perennial basil and planted a rhubarb crown. It was a very good day.

Leave a comment

Filed under cool things

Leave a Reply

