Fish filters

Fish filters

Okay, I’ll admit that this image isn’t straight out of my phone… In fact, this was taken three weeks ago with my old phone, and was a bit dodgy. So, I had a little fun in Photoshop, using a filter to add texture, and changing it from colour to black & white, so that it looked a little like it had been drawn with charcoal.

 Here’s the original:

Fishy original

 I personally think that the ‘filtered’ version is preferable, although I do like the colour in the original.

Of course, not everyone has access to photo editing software like Photoshop, but if you do, you can have a lot of fun making simple changes for dramatic effect.

My favourite thing to do in Photoshop is restoring old images to their former glory.

Here is an example with a before and after shot:

  milbah-web.jpgBefore

milbah-restored-web.jpgAfter

 This is a portrait of a dear friend’s mother.  It could still stand a little colour balancing, as it has a cast, but is acceptable as it is, particularly as I have no way of knowing for sure if her dress was white or cream.

I’m a bit of a traditionalist, with applying the occasional filter about the wildest thing I do in Photoshop at the moment.  I am working hard to break myself of this habit, to give me flexibility to develop new skills, but it is a slow process as I get so caught up in doing restorations that I forget to do anything different.

It gives me such a charge to see photos brought back to their original state, and to see the faces of the people whose pictures I have repaired, that I feel like I’ve been given a gift.

I’ll share more of my Photoshop work with you in the coming days and weeks, but in the meantime, go to http://www.redbubble.com/people/krngough if you’d like to see some of the photos I’ve taken with my other camera (a Canon 10D).

Leave a comment

Filed under photography, photoshop

Leave a Reply

