Bells and whistles

Wheel and bellsYesterday, when I finished my editing class in town, I decided to walk along the Yarra river to Jolimont station instead of catching the train at Flinders Street, as I usually would.  I’ve only done the full walk along Birrarung Marr once before, and it has been a revelation both times.The ferris wheel is the most obvious landmark – as in physically obvious – though not the most notable attraction, in my opinion. The image at left shows a view from the footbridge behind the wheel.  (You can see that a storm was just about to break, and the clouds provided a really dramatic backdrop and muted the gaudy colours of the wheel.)

My favourite discovery – although is has apparently been in place since 2002 – was the Federation Bells installation.  I saw what I thought was a really interesting-looking sculpture, and then was delighted and amazed when the bells started ringing.  It turned out that I had arrived, by chance, at the start of one of daily ‘performances’. I must have looked like a dill,  standing there with my mouth open, but it was absolutely entrancing.

Federation bellsThis image shows the Federation Bells, with the ferris wheel as a backdrop.

The only part of the area I dislike is when you go over the footbridge towards the MCG and Rod Laver arena. Speakers set into the sides of the bridge play snippets of songs in Language, with each new section slightly overlapping the last, so that the resultant soundscape can be quite unsettling – at least I found it so.  Personally, I would much rather hear something in its entirety as I walk the length of the bridge.  I don’t really think the format does the music justice, either, but that is just my opinion.

Overall, I had a fabulous walk. Although windy and – eventually – wet, I got a great view of the Yarra; saw what appeared to be an Indian bridal party having photographs taken (though it may have been a commercial photo shoot – who knows), and found the Federation Bells. I also got some photos I am quite pleased with – I think I’ve got the hang of my new phone camera, now.

Leave a comment

Filed under cool things, melbourne

Leave a Reply

