Young & Jackson’s

Sally Dastey at Young & Jackson’s

An afternoon spent singing has got to be one of the best ways to pass the time. 

Today the choir I sing with – Lipstick & Spurs – was lucky enough to be invited to accompany the amazing Sally Dastey (folk singer/songwriter, formerly a member of Tiddas) at Young & Jackson’s hotel.

 Sally #2

We were part of four songs – three of Sally’s and Pearly Shells – which she brought to the choir when leading us for a while earlier this year. The most fun of all was the last song Someone on his side. Sally said she was going to sing it on her own, but then invited us to sing harmonies at the end from within the audience. She described it as making the audience feel like they were part of the music rather than being separated from it, and she was right – the last song brought smiles and laughter to a lot of faces.

It’s just over a year since I joined the choir, and here I am getting amazing opportunities like this! The talent of the people around me, and the joy they get from their singing, are gifts in their own right, but being able to join in is more fun than I could have imagined. Although it sounds corny, singing like this feels like the realisation of a dream I didn’t know I had. And now that I’ve found it, I’m going to treasure it.

2 Comments

Filed under cool things, melbourne, music

2 responses to “Young & Jackson’s

  1. Very impressive, Karen.
    I’ve been full as a boot in Y&J’s a few times, so who knows, perhaps I have also participated in a singalong there myself?
    Not as tuneful as you guys I’d imagine…

  2. Pingback: Saturday night at Don’t Tell Tom’s « Blogday

Leave a Reply

