Opportunistic

Hare Krishna devotees

 A trip to town on Tuesday for a dental consultation, saw me minus one molar and with my bank account $450 lighter, but still needing to do some shopping for Meg’s Birthday.

I took advantage of the fact that I was in the city but moving slowly, and took a couple of shots that I’ve been meaning to take for a while – the ubiquitous ‘Giant Pocketwatch’ and ‘Shot Tower’ images.  A troupe of dancing Hare Krisha devotees (above), that was passing as I came down the escalator from one of the arcades off the Bourke St Mall, provided a colourful bonus.

Actually, the Hare Krishnas were particularly interesting to look at this time because of the piano accordian (I’ve never seen one of those being used by them before), and the belt amp and head-set being used by the (apparent) leader – shown back left, in the pale saffron-coloured robe and hood.

The angle of the shot shows the movement exactly as it was – I pulled my phone from my pocket, turned on the camera and snapped the picture as I came down the escalator. I didn’t want to take a chance on missing the shot, or be too obvious about it, so I ‘shot from the hip’, so to speak. I quite like the result, even though it is not a perfect image by any means.

 The Shot TowerAs for the Shot Tower image – it was remarkably simple to capture, especially considering how tricky exposure can be when shooting up towards the sky. Rather than having to take multiple images, or mess around with it in Photoshop, I found that the first shot was exactly what I wanted. Sometimes simple cameras can give the most surprising results.

  The Giant Pocketwatch

3 Comments

Filed under melbourne

3 responses to “Opportunistic

  1. That shot tower shot is fantastic

  2. Hare Krishna Karen,
    How are you?

    I saw this blog article completely by chance and I was pleasantly surprised to see that you have clicked my devotee friends from the temple who are on their “Sankirtan” which means public singing of the names and glories of God as they wander from streets to street. This was and still somewhat seen in India. Infact, you have my friend looking straight into your camera. You will see him in my photo collection too 🙂

    You may have heard them sing the Maha Mantra (the great mantra for chanting) which goes as follows:

    Hare Krishna Hare Krishna
    Krishna Krishna Hare Hare
    Hare Rama Hare Rama
    Rama Rama Hare Hare
    (Hare is pronounced as Harey or Harae)

    Maybe you already know all of this.

    The piano accordian is called harmonium which is usually an accompanying instrument. Its a popular instrument at all our temples. When you visit the melbourne temple, you can see little kids playing it like a pro.

    The drums are called Mrdanga, the traditional double headed drum of India. This one is made of modern elements for durability.

    The portable microphone/amp also helps a lot for everyone to hear the singing.

    Thats it Karen. Thanks for posting this image and article. I will tell the others when I get the chance. Next time please join the procession. Its fun! Also please take more images of us when you get a chance and you can make it as obvious as you like 🙂

    Hari Bol,
    Manoj

  3. Karen

    Hi Manoj,

    Thank you for your comments and for the interesting information about the musical instruments. I really had no idea that such a range were used as I had only seen the drums in use in the past.

    I’ll definitely take more photos next time I see a Sankirtan in progress – and share them with the participants, if they would like that. Apart from not wanting to miss the opportunity, I hadn’t wanted to seem rude by photographing a group obviously worshipping – albeit publicly. Next time, hopefully I will have my ‘good’ camera with me and not just my phone, so that the images will truly be able to do them justice.

    Kind regards,

    Karen.

Leave a Reply

