Slow Monday

I can’t believe that, after having been so busy last week with BAS paperwork and other book-keeping tasks and with medical appointments, I am sitting here today wondering what I should do… The obvious answer – post to Blogday, of course.

The weekend just gone started with my parents coming over for tea on Friday night, as it was my Dad’s birthday. Without doubt, too much food was consumed, but it was all so good! The menu included wild olives from the Grampians in west Victoria; Marisa’s sopressate; Grandfather salami; bocconcini; Blue Castello; brie; aged Tasty; dried tomatoes and figs – and all this was just the entree!

School in the afternoon had been fun, as usual, and was crowned by an opportunity to photograph a fabulous piece of graffiti art in Westgarth, just next to the station. You can see a number of photos of ‘Snail-tale’ in the gallery. I love the main characters in this piece – they have such expression in their faces that they make me smile every time I see them.

Saturday was market-shopping day with the requisite early start to beat the crowds to the Queen Victoria Market. The 5.30 start is always worthwhile – in the fifteen years that my mum and I have been going, we’ve made some good friends among the sellers, and going early means that we have a chance to talk to them as well as get our produce before it has been completely picked over by other shoppers.

The other advantage of the early start at the is that we generally get to see the balloons going over the city from the crowd at Balloon Sunrise. This week there were seven of them.

I don’t know what it is about hot-air balloons, but I just love them. Luckily, where we live is on one of the main flight paths, so I often see balloons five days out of seven, but I just never tire of them. Some of the photos above show the balloons going over the city. They unfortunately have been reduced to big specks by the extreme wide-angle of the phone camera lens, but you can still see them.

We did have to adjust our routine a bit though, seeing as I have been told to lift nothing heavier than a phone book (yes, my  limit has gone from two kilos to about 3kg!). Dad came with us to push the trolley and help load/unload the car and I just had to walk along twiddling my thumbs!

This problem with my neck is taking some adjusting to. I’ve realised that I am a poor judge of what things weigh and am still inadvertently carrying too much weight when I do the shopping or even just work around the house. Oh well, nothing has happened yet, so hopefully it won’t ever.

Sunday was to be for market shopping of a different sort, with the artisan’s market at the Abbotsford convent. It was very disappointing, though, in the range and number of artist’s displaying or selling their wares, and we came away empty handed.

A trip to Victoria Street in Richmond soon made us feel better, though, as we happened upon a fantastic Vietnamese/Chinese restaurant doing Yum Cha, and with one empty table in an otherwise very crowded room. The food was great, the atmosphere buzzing, and the prices very reasonable. What more can a diner ask for?

So – there ends the diary of the weekend past – with lots of photos to make up in part for the fact that it has been a week since I last posted (again). Cheers.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under cool things, food, melbourne

Leave a Reply

