Michael Buble in concert

My brother, overseas for work, was unable to get back in time to go to the Michael Buble concert at Rod Laver Arena on Thursday night, so I went in his place. All I can say is WOW!

Actually, I’ve got a lot more to say than that. It was one of the best shows I’ve ever been to.

I have one of his cd’s, which I love, but didn’t know much about the man, so I did a bit of research on the net before I went. I watched his most recent Rove interview,  and read a review and watched another interview here, which gave me a good feel for what we ended up seeing. There is quite an extensive entry on Wikipedia, too.

It must be said, first of all, that Michael Buble is a fabulous showman. He includes his audience in the show; his singing is every bit as good live,as it is on his albums, and he is hugely funny. Cracking jokes at his own expense, a couple of times in a very bad Australian accent, he had us laughing so much that I am still hoarse.

Some members of the 13,000 strong audience were a bit of a worry, but no more than you’d expect, given his appeal. Regardless of the number, shape, size or age of the women throwing himself at him, he still threw himself into the crowd and hugged, kissed and accepted flowers from fans.

Before MB came on stage, a seven-piece acapella group called Naturally 7 came on to warm-up the crowd. They were amazing, doing everything from vocal gymnastics to an incredible version of Amazing Grace. You can hear some of their material on YouTube.

I must apologise for the quality of the photos – my phone camera simply was not able to handle the contrast. Stupidly, I didn’t think to take any other camera with me, though I might have if I’d realised before we got to the arena, that we were going to be sitting in the dead-centre, five rows from the stage! I’ve included them to give you a feel of the atmosphere, even if the highlights are completely blown.

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under cool things, melbourne, music

One response to “Michael Buble in concert

  1. Pingback: Saturday night at Don’t Tell Tom’s « Blogday

Leave a Reply

