The joy of reclaimed land

After dropping Meg at the railway station last Friday for the last day of school before the holidays, I decided to go straight up to Northcote to do the shopping. When I got there, I realised that I was too early for the particular shops I wanted, so I took advantage of the extra time and went for a walk around All Nations Park – something I haven’t done for months, despite loving it every time I do.

Having started out as a landfill (for non-putrescible waste), All Nations Park has become a focal point for the local community over the past six years since it opened. I admire the foresight of the people whose houses abut the park, as much as I admire those who made it, though for different reasons. When it was a tip, it was a dust bowl, and now it is green and leafy and beautiful. Wouldn’t mind having it outside my front door…

I’ll save you the pictures of ducks, today, and instead show you the very groovy toilet block (albeit one of those scary talking ones). I love that even a humble toilet block can be turned into something attractive. Got to love architects (which I do, by the way, as I am married to one).

Groovy toilet block

Talking toilet block

After wandering around the lake and watching the ducks (and the toilet block), I came across a sign, the back of which had been painted so that the eyes looked out at you from over the reeds and other plants.

Peek a boo

I don’t know anything about this particular piece of art – like whether or not it is a ‘sanctioned’ work, or has just been done by someone for the fun of it – but either way, I love it.

When I got to the top of the park, on the bluestone hill that was created as a focal point, I thought I’d try out the panorama function on my phone camera. The results are patchy – especially the view to the East, where the rising sun really caused the camera some grief – but it was fun to try, and was such a clear morning that it was just nice being out for a walk.

The view to the East

The view to the West

The view to the West

Leave a comment

Filed under fairfield, photography

Leave a Reply

