Sweet success!

Months ago, I entered a number of competitions in the Royal Melbourne Show, mostly as a way to give myself deadlines on a couple of projects, but also – in the case of the cookery competition – because everybody who eats the bread I make is VERY complimentary about it, so I thought I would see how it stacked up against other people’s.

Out of the blue, we were very kindly given a weekend in the snow at Falls Creek by some friends, and it happened to coincide with the day for delivering food entries to the showgrounds for judging, so I had decided that I would just forfeit my entry fees and have another go next year.  Until we had to cancel at the last minute, that is.

Meg was sick with bronchitis – and I mean really sick  – so I was up most of Friday night with her. Seeing I was up, I decided to make my bread after all.

  

I made two batches and ended up with a couple of loaves I was really happy with, so I took them over and dropped them off at about 10 in the morning, just for the hell of it. I certainly had no expectation of winning anything…

Last Thursday, the day the Show opened, I hopped onto the website to look at competition results, and was absolutely stoked to see that I had won second prize! I seriously couldn’t believe my eyes! It’s now become a running family joke that I am an ‘award winning’ bread maker.

I’ll admit, too, that my first thought after Oh my god, I’ve won second prize! was What do I have to do to win first?  I guess I’ll be practicing a lot more during the year!

2 Comments

Filed under cool things, food, melbourne

2 responses to “Sweet success!

  1. Nice work. Award-winning baker. Has a ring to it. Don’t be shy, send some around.

  2. gullybogan

    Good work; and you beat that Anne-Marie Primmer, who was entered in EVERYTHING, as far as i could see, so extra good work there.

Leave a Reply

